Return to Home Page

E-notify RSS Feeds Facebook 
City Council
The City Council is made up of the Mayor elected for a two-year term and six Councilors elected for four-year terms, all elected by the citizens of Monmouth. The City is administered by a City Manager (who is appointed by the Council) and City staff.

The City Council meets on the first and third Tuesday's of each month. Both meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. and take place in Volunteer Hall (directly South of City Hall) at 144 South Warren Street. These meetings are open to the public.  The procedure for the public to engage the Council is contained in the Council Rules.

The meetings are routinely taped and broadcast on  MINET channel 718 approximately 2-3 days following the meeting.  Playback is repeated several times between meetings.  Meetings are also posted on WIMPEG's YouTube channel:   WIMPEG Video.


In April of 2017, the City Council adopted an Inclusivity Resolution declaring Monmouth an Inclusive City.


The Council Goals for the current year:   Monmouth City Council Goals 2018-2019 


City Council Agendas, Minutes, and Packets


To email a Councilor, click on their name.



(term expires 2018)
Councilor Carey
Jon Carey 
(term expires 2022)

Councilor Shinkle
Byron Shinkle
(term expires 2020)

  Christopher Lopez 
 (term expires 2022)

Councilor Silbernagel
 Darin Silbernagel
(term expires 2020)

Councilor Sharmer
Laurel Sharmer
(term expires 2020)
Roxanne Beltz
Roxanne Beltz
(term expires 2022)




      City of Monmouth
      151 Main Street W
      Monmouth, OR 97361
      Phone: 503.838.0722
      Fax: 503.838.0725
      City of Monmouth
      Contact Us
      Site Map
      Government Websites by MunicipalCMS